Win copies of The Lost Girl for your reading group

9780718183103 small

Are you looking for the next gripping and mesmerising read for your book group?

Michael Joseph are giving away sets of ten copies of Carol Drinkwater’s brilliant new novel The Lost Girl to ten very lucky reading groups. This is a heartrending story of loss and enduring love set between the night of the Paris terror attacks and post-war Provence.

For the chance to win a set for your group, simply email before 5pm on Thursday 20th July 2017. It would be great if you can also tell us about your reading group, why you would love to get your hands on a copy, and if you would be happy to review this title for us.

About the book:

“A story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the glorious countryside of southern France” Dinah Jefferies, Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter’s Wife

A missing daughter. A desperate mother. A night that changes everything…

After four years of agonizing uncertainty, Kurtiz Ross receives word that her missing daughter has been sighted. Desperate for a reunion with Lizzie, she and her estranged husband Oliver make the journey from London to Paris.

Their nightmare seems to be coming to an end – until Paris is torn apart by a terrorist attack. As the tragedy unfurls over an endless night Kurtiz finds kindness in an unlikely stranger, whose past holds the key to her future.

Closing date: 20th July


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image