Advance proof copies of Attica Locke's new book, Bluebird Bluebird


We’re very excited to have three sets for reading groups to give away of Bluebird Bluebird, the new novel by Orange Prize shortlisted author Attica Locke.

Bluebird Bluebird is the start of a new series set along Highway 59 in Texas. A black cop working for the Texas Rangers is on what could be his last case, figuring out the connection between two victims whose bodies are pulled from the bayou a couple of days apart. One is a young white woman, the other an adult black man. As fear and paranoia spreads through the residents of the small town, Darren starts asking some uncomfortable questions.

About the author

Attica Locke is an award-winning writer, and screenwriter for the Fox / E4 show Empire. Bluebird Bluebird is a superb detective story that will make you think, and offers lots to talk about.

Closing date: 14 July


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image