Behind The Mask Is Nothing - Judy Birbeck


To win 10 copies of Judy Birbeck’s beautiful, moving – and disturbing – novel, please contact is below by 30th June. Once your group has read the book, we’d love to hear what you think – reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, etc, are welcome.

About the book

How could anyone get drawn into a cult without realising?

Stef does. An overworked teacher, she questions her husband’s fidelity, but is drawn into a community on a remote Exmoor estate run by the couples counsellor. Meanwhile, her grandmother, who is writing her memoir about the Hitler Youth girls in Berlin with a mixture of guilt and nostalgia, looks on helplessly as Stef descends ever further.

Superbly written, the story unfolds against background of nature and music; this is a scintillating novel about the abuse of power – and the acceptance of this abuse.

About the author

Judy Birkbeck studied German and French from Reading University, and gained an MA in Creative Writing from Exeter University. Behind The Mask Is Nothing was partly inspired by personal experience of a non-residential cult-like group. She is currently working on her third novel, about the abuse of power within the family.

She was born and bred in London, and lives in Yorkshire.


Introducing our Baileys Library Ambassadors for 2017

Earlier this week we introduced you to our Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction reading groups. Now we are pleased to present our Library Ambassadors. These 3 librarians will be shadowing this year’s Prize by reading the six shortlisted titles and will also be promoting the Prize in their libraries.

Medium introduction image

How to run a reading circle

Adapted from article by Angie Simms- NATECLA News, Autumn 2010 and inspired by Oxford Bookworms. With thanks to Jenny Roden. Looking to experiment with your reading group? The reading circle is an exciting new approach which could enhance your reading group meetings. Originally designed for English language learners, the model can be applied to any reading group who wants to get creative with their approach. The model breaks down the group into five specific roles, which have been designed...

Thumb happy reading groups image with logo

Crime Quick Reads that everyone should read

Quick Reads One in six adults of working age in the UK find reading difficult and may never pick up a book. People’s reasons for not reading are varied: some people say they find books intimidating, that they struggle to find the time or that books are difficult or boring. Quick Reads sets out to challenge these beliefs and to show that books and reading can be for everyone. Each year we commission big name authors to write short books that are specifically designed to be easy to read....

Medium crime qr pic