The Keeper of Lost Things - Ruth Hogan

Keeper of lost things

To celebrate the forthcoming release of The Keeper of Lost Things, we’re offering 15 reading groups the chance to read and review Ruth’s stunning debut novel. Groups are asked to leave their reviews on Amazon, GoodReads or Reading Groups for Everyone.

5 lucky reading groups will also have the chance to have tea with Ruth in September to discuss her novel and ask any questions they might have for her. All reading groups have to do is complete this survey stating why they would like to have tea with Ruth.

Please sign up by 20 June.

About the book

Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.
Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.
But the final wishes of the ‘Keeper of Lost Things’ have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters…

’Hogan’s touching, funny and romantic debut is that rare and precious thing: a real story with brilliant characters’ – Daily Mail
‘A charming read that seems bound to become a book club favourite.’ – The Lady

About the author

Ruth Hogan was born in Bedford. She studied English and Drama at Goldsmiths College and then got a ‘proper’ job, but when a car accident left her unable to work full-time, she decided to start writing seriously. In 2012 she was diagnosed with cancer: as chemo kept her up all night she passed the time writing, and the eventual result was her debut The Keeper of Lost Things. Her second novel A Beginner’s Guide to Drowning, will be published next year. She lives in a chaotic Victorian house with an assortment of rescue dogs and her long-suffering husband.


Introducing our Baileys Library Ambassadors for 2017

Earlier this week we introduced you to our Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction reading groups. Now we are pleased to present our Library Ambassadors. These 3 librarians will be shadowing this year’s Prize by reading the six shortlisted titles and will also be promoting the Prize in their libraries.

Medium introduction image

How to run a reading circle

Adapted from article by Angie Simms- NATECLA News, Autumn 2010 and inspired by Oxford Bookworms. With thanks to Jenny Roden. Looking to experiment with your reading group? The reading circle is an exciting new approach which could enhance your reading group meetings. Originally designed for English language learners, the model can be applied to any reading group who wants to get creative with their approach. The model breaks down the group into five specific roles, which have been designed...

Thumb happy reading groups image with logo

Crime Quick Reads that everyone should read

Quick Reads One in six adults of working age in the UK find reading difficult and may never pick up a book. People’s reasons for not reading are varied: some people say they find books intimidating, that they struggle to find the time or that books are difficult or boring. Quick Reads sets out to challenge these beliefs and to show that books and reading can be for everyone. Each year we commission big name authors to write short books that are specifically designed to be easy to read....

Medium crime qr pic