Scribbles in the Margins by Daniel Gray

Final scribbles jacket

Do you love the smell of an old book? What about the idiosyncrasies of a favourite second-hand bookshop?

This is the ultimate book for book lovers. Scribbles in the Margins is a heartfelt and witty celebration of books, libraries and bookshops. Written by Daniel Grey, it is an unashamed love letter, comprising fifty short essays of prose poetry dedicated to the simple joy to be found in reading and the rituals around it.

To celebrate the publication of Scribbles in the Margins, we’re giving away two sets of ten proofs to two lucky reading groups!

For the chance to win simply tell us about your reading group and let us know if you’re happy to review the book. Once your group has read the book, we’d love if you’d tweet us your thoughts to @BloomsburyBooks

To apply, please log in and get in touch with the contact listed by 23rd June.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image