Be part of the publishing process!

Taste of blue light

Hachette Books needs you!

We are looking for three opinionated and enthusiastic reading groups to read and provide honest feedback on Lydia Ruffles’ exciting debut novel The Taste of Blue Light ahead of hardback publication in September 2017 and to help shape the paperback release in 2018.

The Taste of Blue Light is an incandescent, soul-searching story about a broken young woman’s search for a truth buried so deep it threatens to consume her, body and mind.

Not only do we want personal feedback from reading group members — we want to meet you. We are inviting the winning groups to our headquarters at Hachette Book Group in London for a chance to see the inner workings of one of the UK’s top publishing houses. Depending on your location, the team at Hachette may choose to come to you instead, to hear your thoughts on this debut publication.

Successful groups will receive advance copies of the book for each member of the reading group and feedback forms to complete in July and the visit with Hachette will happen in August.

To enter simply log in and complete our short survey by 2 June.

More about The Taste of Blue Light

‘Since I blacked out, the slightest thing seems to aggravate my brain and fill it with fire’

These are the things Lux knows:
She is an Artist.
She is lucky.
She is broken.

These are the things she doesn’t know:
What happened over the summer.
Why she ended up in hospital.
Why her memories are etched in red.

‘The nightmares tend to linger long after your screams have woken you up …’

Desperate to uncover the truth, Lux’s time is running out. If she cannot piece together the events of the summer and regain control of her fractured mind, she will be taken away from everything and everyone she holds dear.

If her dreams don’t swallow her first.


Introducing our Baileys Library Ambassadors for 2017

Earlier this week we introduced you to our Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction reading groups. Now we are pleased to present our Library Ambassadors. These 3 librarians will be shadowing this year’s Prize by reading the six shortlisted titles and will also be promoting the Prize in their libraries.

Medium introduction image

How to run a reading circle

Adapted from article by Angie Simms- NATECLA News, Autumn 2010 and inspired by Oxford Bookworms. With thanks to Jenny Roden. Looking to experiment with your reading group? The reading circle is an exciting new approach which could enhance your reading group meetings. Originally designed for English language learners, the model can be applied to any reading group who wants to get creative with their approach. The model breaks down the group into five specific roles, which have been designed...

Thumb happy reading groups image with logo

Crime Quick Reads that everyone should read

Quick Reads One in six adults of working age in the UK find reading difficult and may never pick up a book. People’s reasons for not reading are varied: some people say they find books intimidating, that they struggle to find the time or that books are difficult or boring. Quick Reads sets out to challenge these beliefs and to show that books and reading can be for everyone. Each year we commission big name authors to write short books that are specifically designed to be easy to read....

Medium crime qr pic