The Silent Witness by Casey Watson


Read the latest shocking and moving true story from specialist foster carer Casey Watson, The Silent Witness. We have five reading group sets of 10 copies to giveaway.

It’s the night before Christmas when Casey and her husband Mike get the call, asking them to take in a twelve-year-old girl, Bella. Bella is stuck in one of the most unimaginable positions. Her father is on a ventilator, fighting for his life, while her mother is currently on remand in prison. Despite claiming she attacked him in self-defence, Bella’s mother has been charged with his attempted murder.
Bella is refusing to say anything about what really happened. The trouble is that she is also the only witness…

Can Casey persuade Bella to reveal the truth?

The Silent Witness raises themes on foster care, the criminal justice system and domestic violence, proving to be a highly sensitive and emotive read.

Casey Watson is a specialist foster carer specialising in children who are particularly troubled or damaged by their past. She shares her stories through her writing, using under a pseudonym to protect the children she cares for. If you want to keep up-to-date with all of Casey’s latest releases and news, you can like her Facebook page at follow her on Twitter @caseywatson1.

Once you and your reading group have read this, we’d love you to tweet us @HarperNonFic on Twitter, #TheSilentWitness, to let us know what you think!


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image