The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay

Malcolm mackay lewis winter

Winner of the Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award

Nominated for The Guardian First Book Award

CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for Best New Crime Writer of the Year and ITV 3 Crime Thriller Book Club

‘A remarkably original debut…this is a book that it would be hard not to finish in one sitting… a wholly believable and unnerving portrait of organised crime’ Guardian

To celebrate the paperback publication of Scottish crime writer Malcolm Mackay’s latest book, For Those Who Know the Ending Pan Macmillan are thrilled to invite 10 reading groups to read and review the first installment of Malcolm Mackay’s acclaimed Glasgow Trilogy, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, the book that made his name.

Each participating group member, if they enjoyed the book, will have the opportunity to recommend the book to a friend, to receive as a gift from Pan Macmillan.

Please log in and sign up below by 21 February.

The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter

An arresting, gripping novel of dark relationships and even darker moralities, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter introduces a remarkable new voice in crime fiction and marks the beginning of a stunning new trilogy set in the Glasgow underworld.

A twenty-nine-year-old man lives alone in his Glasgow flat. The telephone rings; a casual conversation, but behind this a job offer. The clues are there if you know to look for them.

He is an expert. A loner. Freelance. Another job is another job, but what if this organisation wants more? A meeting at a club. An offer. A brief. A target: Lewis Winter.

It’s hard to kill a man well. People who do it well know this. People who do it badly find out the hard way. The hard way has consequences…

Malcolm Mackay

31-year-old Malcolm Mackay was born and grew up on Stornoway where he still lives.

The second book in the trilogy is How a Gunman Says Goodbye which was published in July 2013. The final book in the Glasgow Trilogy, The Sudden Arrival of Violence, followed in January 2014.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image