Wellcome Prize 2017

Large longlist packshot

The longlist for the 2017 Wellcome Book Prize has been announced today, Monday 30 January. The prize celebrates exceptional works of fiction and non-fiction that engage with the topics of health and medicine and the many ways they touch our lives.

Comprising seven non-fiction and five fiction titles the longlist includes memoir, contemporary fiction, historical novel and popular science. Authors from the UK and USA appear on the list as well as the first Australian, French and Israeli contenders for the prize.

The twelve books on the list offer such a breadth of topic and style that they are perfect for reading groups. These are books to challenge, question, engage and provide catharsis. Click through to any title to leave a review or to add the book to your group’s reading list.

2017 longlist

There are two debut books on this year’s longlist; I Contain Multitudes by Ed Yong and When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi. Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal and Jessica Moore is the first translated text to be included.

Small 2016 wellcome book prize winner   suzanne o sullivan 300

Three of the authors have been shortlisted for the prize in previous years; Adam Rutherford for Creation in 2014, Siddhartha Mukherjee for The Emperor of all Maladies in 2011 and Sarah Moss, who is in contention for the third consecutive year with The Tidal Zone.

Last April, the winner of the Wellcome Book Prize 2016 was announced as consultant neurologist Suzanne O’Sullivan, for It’s All in Your Head, her journey through the world of psychosomatic illness.

Get involved

Have you read any of the longlisted titles? Share your thoughts using #WBP2017 or comment below.

Keep up with the latest news on the Wellcome Book Prize website, and join in the conversation on Twitter and Facebook.


Log in or Sign up to add a comment


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image