Man Booker Prize – 21st Century winners

Large man booker millennium snip

The longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, for the 2016 Man Booker Prize has been announced, and the chosen titles have got us thinking about books from previous years that have taken home the most prestigious of literary prizes.

Here are all of the winners from this side of the millennium. Which have you read, and do you have a favourite? Are there previous winners that you’ve been meaning to read?

Click any title below to leave a review, see what other people thought, or add it to your group’s reading list. Don’t forget to share your reviews with us on Twitter.

Get involved

Small mb2016 logo purple 100

We would love for you to share your favourite previous winner with us on Twitter using #FinestFiction, or you can comment below. Is there anyone out there who has read all the books above, or is planning to? Let us know.

Find out more about the prize and this year’s hopefuls at

In a reading group? We have a wonderful opportunity for six reading groups to shadow the Man Booker Prize shortlist – find out more on our Noticeboard.


Log in or Sign up to add a comment

A few years ago I began to get the Booker shortlist as a Christmas present in order to widen my reading. I loved Wolf Hall but the one that I really couldn't put down was The narrow road to the deep north'.
I have enjoyed all of the books I've read for different reasons. Some I have puzzled about and others I have persevered with, but I have finished them all!


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image