Elmet: SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

Book
9781473660540

By Fiona Mozley

avg rating

2 reviews

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire – perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent

Reviews

02 Oct 2017

bookiemcp

A fascinating story of a family outside of time. Daniel, Cathy and Daddy live in the woods in a house they have built, but on land they do not own. Daddy doesn't accept these modern rules of ownership and paperwork, he lives by a much older system. This is a strange and interesting tale, I haven't read anything like it before. A mix of detailed descriptions of nature counterpointed with brutal violence and an air of foreboding.

12 Oct 2017

Louisa Stringer

This is what the Last Monday Book Club thought of Elmet:
John - A well written, brilliantly described book which evoked in me a instinctive, familiar dread from somewhere in my subconscious. The author, rather than taking us back to historical cultures brings the clash of two modern versions of historical cultures to 20th century rural Yorkshire. Daddy’s violent but primitively moral world of the hunter gatherer in which he tries to keep his children apart from the avaricious modern feudalism of Price. The two lived uncomfortably together with Price awaiting an opportunity to bring Daddy back into his serfdom. My mind tried impotently to find parallels in modern Britain. In this world Daddy tries to prepare two children with somehow reversed gender stereotypes for the modern world. He tries to fit each for a different part. Daniel for the culture of the settled modern Yorkshire and Kathy for the traveller world of today. I would have liked to have my fantasy of their past confirmed but she tantalisingly leaves me with an unsettling curiosity about the history of Daddy, Vivienne and the children’s nominal mother.

Penny - I found it thought provoking & it made made me see how others live in such a different way. Daddy had strong morale code, but not conventional at all, Cathy was the opposite to a weak girl, Daniel liked housework etc. Characters well drawn, descriptions detailed. I felt uncomfortable with the violence, but that is a personal thing. Excellently written, but although I got through it quickly, I wanted to put it down to take a breath at times!

Donata -Elmet is a book which leaves so much to the reader's imagination that everyone is able to become the author. Not knowing exactly how Vivien is linked to the family, why Price is so eager to pass the land on to Daniel and why he has such a hold over Daddy (amongst many other questions!), leaves the reader wondering about a lifetime of interwoven paths. The descriptions used in the book were of great importance to the story. The depiction of a very rural, raw landscape help to bring to life a world that many will never experience and serve as the perfect backdrop to the intimate lives of its inhabitants. It is good to question people's actions and one's own actions; Elmet encourages this from the beginning of the first chapter to the final word.

Paula - An unusual, disturbing and thought-provoking book that builds slowly to a violent but not altogether surprising end. It is narrated by Daniel who tells the story of his and his sister's unconventional upbringing living in a wood with their ‘Daddy’, not attending school, hunting for food, being almost completely self-sufficient. But this is not self-sufficiency in a ‘Tom and Barbara/The Good Life’ sense; far from it. Through the eyes of Daniel we are introduced to a violent and corrupt world made up of petty and not so petty criminals, ex-cons, illegal immigrants, and the generally dispossessed. Almost an underworld that sits below official society that most people don’t know exists. After being introduced to this world, you are left feeling slightly uncomfortable and troubled.
All in all, well written but I did wish it was longer. I would have liked more detail about certain aspects of the story, the relationship with Vivienne, for instance. Overall a good read.

Sian - I found this book hard to get into at first, despite the fact that I was reading it fairly quickly. To begin with I did not know if I was reading it in a male or female voice, which is not surprising as you get to know Cathy and Daniel's characters better. I liked the bond between the family members and found the contrast between the two levels of society interesting. The lifestyle of Daniel's family was so primitive that I forgot that this book was set in modern times. I too thought that questions remained unanswered regarding Price and Vivien and I'm not sure if this was deliberate or not. I found the last third of the book the most compelling as the drama builds towards its conclusion. I was not surprised at Cathy's actions in the end, in fact I thought it was obvious. I am not sure if the chapters from Daniel in the present day added anything to the story. Overall it was an okay read, but I'm not sure I would recommend it to others.

Andrea - I really enjoyed reading Elmet, but am never pleased with an ending that's not an ending. It feels like a cliffhanger but sadly I didn't feel the need to know more. Such an unconventional family in conflict with the usual stereotypes. Unconventional lifestyle and fighting for peace and to be left on the outside of what most consider normal. Mum absent, Daddy is the carer, gentle but also tough. Cathy is also tough and the strongest of the siblings, then Daniel is soft and the homemaker, but also the survivor.

Louisa - What a book! Dark and brooding with a building sense of doom as the story unfolds to reveal its brutal conclusion. Daddy feels like a modern-day Robin Hood taking on the feudal Price for the benefit of the community, drawing them briefly into his world with the bonfire in the forest. There is a strong sense of place, described beautifully but never becoming unwieldy, with the just occasional use of the Yorkshire dialect to give definition without being obtrusive. I found the feisty Cathy more appealing than Daniel and would have like to know more about Vivian. I'd really recommend this book.

From the noticeboard