A Boy Made of Blocks

Book
9780751563290

By Keith Stuart

avg rating

2 reviews

A beautiful, funny and most of all uplifting story of family and love, perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

Reviews

26 Apr 2017

I really enjoyed this book. The author obviously understands his subject matter.
Sam was a brilliant character and the relationship between Alex and Sam was very interesting to follow. Dan is the kind of friend we could all do with.
I would recommend this book.

12 May 2017

FabLibrarian

Don’t let the rather boring cover put you off! This is a really lovely and gripping story about Alex, a man in his thirties and Sam, his autistic eight year old son.

Alex loves Sam but doesn’t know how to bridge the gap between the “normal” world and the world Sam inhabits. He also struggles to cope with Sam’s outbursts and retreats to his boring, mundane job, preferring to leave his wife to resolve any issues.

Not surprisingly Jody, his incredibly patient wife, decides enough is enough and Alex has to move out of the family home. Without normal day to day contact, Alex struggles to find a way to make the time he can spend with Sam mean something to them both. And then he stumbles across the world of Minecraft.

The characters in this book leap off the page and you soon find yourself willing Alex to keep preserving and to find the bridge that will finally bring him close to his son.

From the noticeboard