Shtum

Book
9781409162971

By Jem Lester

avg rating

2 reviews

Funny, moving and uplifting, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning how to get along. For fans of THE ROSIE PROJECT and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME

Reviews

24 Mar 2016

bookiemcp

A sucker-punch of a novel. Harsh and unforgiving at times, sweet and heartwarming at others. A fascinating insight into the life of a family with a severely autistic child. You'll smile at well as cry!

27 Apr 2016

“This book is one of my favourites of 2015, a quite remarkable debut about a couple with an autistic son who make the decision that it might be best for them to temporarily separate in order for them to get their son Jonah into a residential school. Shtum is a powerful story that rocked me to my very core, it had me laughing one minute and crying the next, packed with dark humour it is the story of fathers and sons and the sacrifices you will make for your children. A truly delightful read that left me feeling uplifted and my heart aching.”

“I cannot stress highly enough how much I loved this book. Simply charming, beautiful and gut-wrenching. This would appeal to anyone who is a parent or has a parent! Told from the point of view of Ben a 30-something father of a severely autistic boy, this book grabs your heart strings, pulls them sideways and then snaps them back!”

From the noticeboard